During the procession, the Basel 'cliques' address topical issues with a humorous touch, 2003 © Felix Jehle/picturebâle
During the procession, the Basel 'cliques' address topical issues with a humorous touch, 2003 © Felix Jehle/picturebâle

Living traditions are our intangible cultural heritage. In other words, Intangible cultural heritage refers to all traditions and practices that are passed down from one generation to the next and which provide us with a sense of identity and continuity. These can range from stories and legends, to music and dance, customs and festivals, right up to traditional know-how and skills. Intangible cultural heritage is not only diverse, but also comes in all manner of forms, and, unlike our tangible cultural heritage, it is constantly evolving and changing.

Federal Office of Culture
Section culture and society
Hallwylstrasse 15
3003 Bern

Latest news

The maps of the living Swiss traditions

The Federal Office of Culture has created six brochures presenting 167 living traditions of Switzerland in form of a map. The maps are illustrated by the artist Albin Christen.

Switzerland's Intangible Cultural Heritage: List of Living Traditions Updated

The list of living traditions in Switzerland, which has existed since 2012, has been updated for the first time. It has been expanded by 34 entries and now contains 199 important forms of intangible cultural heritage, selected by experts and representatives of the cantons and cities under the direction of the Federal Office of Culture. The extension of the list focuses on living traditions in cities. The list provides an insight into Switzerland's cultural diversity. In spring 2018, the updated list will be published as a web inventory with comprehensive documentation.

Living traditions in urban space

"urban traditions" takes a close look at our city life and asks how we cultivate our need for community and rituals in individualized, digitalized and fast-moving Switzerland. With discussion events and an interactive video station that stops in twelve Swiss cities, "urban traditions" sharpens our perception of lived traditions, also in cities.

Website comprehensively documents the living traditions in Switzerland

The updated "List of Living Traditions in Switzerland" is now available as a web inventory with comprehensive documentation. The web inventory gathers in a generally understandable language valuable information on 199 important forms of immaterial cultural heritage in Switzerland. The texts are supplemented by numerous audio, visual and film documents.

https://www.lebendige-traditionen.ch/content/tradition/en/home.html

Cortège : les cliques présentent des sujets d’actualité avec humour, 2003 © Felix Jehle/picturebâle
Cortège : les cliques présentent des sujets d’actualité avec humour, 2003 © Felix Jehle/picturebâle

Les traditions vivantes sont notre patrimoine culturel immatériel. La notion de patrimoine culturel immatériel désigne un ensemble de traditions et de pratiques transmises de génération en génération, qui nous donnent un sentiment de d'identité et de continuité. Citons à titre d'exemple les contes et les légendes, la musique et la danse, les coutumes et les fêtes ou les savoir-faire traditionnels. Le patrimoine culturel immatériel est divers et multiforme; à la différence du patrimoine culturel matériel, il se modifie constamment.

Office fédéral de la culture
Section culture et société
Hallwylstrasse 15
3003 Berne

Actualités

Les cartes des traditions vivantes suisses

L'Office fédéral de la culture vous propose 6 cartes qui mettent en scène les 167 traditions vivantes de la Suisse. Les cartes sont illustrées par l'artiste Albin Christen par une série de dessins amusant et originaux.

Patrimoine culturel immatériel de la Suisse : actualisation de la Liste des traditions vivantes

La « Liste des traditions vivantes en Suisse », dont une première version a été publiée en 2012, a été mise à jour pour la première fois. Elle a été complétée par 34 nouvelles entrées et recense désormais 199 formes importantes du patrimoine culturel immatériel, sélectionnées par des experts et des représentants des cantons et des Villes sous l’égide de l’Office fédéral de la culture. L’élargissement de la liste a également été l’occasion d’intégrer certaines traditions vivantes pratiquées en milieu urbain. Cette liste donne un aperçu de la diversité culturelle de la Suisse. Elle sera publiée en ligne au début de 2018 sous forme d’inventaire contenant une riche documentation.

Traditions vivantes dans l’espace urbain

« urban traditions » braque le projecteur sur notre vie urbaine et s’interroge sur la façon de satisfaire nos besoins de rituels et d’appartenance communautaire dans la Suisse individualiste, numérisée et pressée d’aujourd’hui. Par le biais de manifestations organisées sous forme de discussions et à travers une installation vidéo interactive qui feront étape dans 12 villes suisses, « urban traditions » aiguisera notre perception des traditions vivantes dans l’espace urbain.

Traditions vivantes suisses : riche documentation sur le site internet

La « Liste des traditions vivantes en Suisse » actualisée existe désormais sous la forme d’un inventaire en ligne contenant une riche documentation. Cet inventaire regroupe des informations sur 199 formes importantes du patrimoine culturel immatériel rédigées dans un langage accessible à tous. Les textes sont complétés par une abondante documentation associant sons, images et vidéos.

https://www.lebendige-traditionen.ch/content/tradition/fr/home.html